Fashion is…Forgetting the haters

_DSC9867

_DSC9871

_DSC9853

_DSC9870

_DSC9879

_DSC9863Forever 21: Leather skirt, studded bracelet, H&M: Black purse, Aldo: Biker boots, Old Navy: Sweatshirt, Rw&co.: White blouse

So I was at the gym the other day with my cell phone, for emergencies, and my husband’s Ipad, because I like to read girly novels and get swept away in a fairy tale while working out.  That’s just me, but it makes the time go by much faster.  Anyway, this woman next to me had the audacity to stare at me and tell me that I had an awful lot of technology for a workout.  Meanwhile, she’s using her headphones to watch the TV in front of her.  I simply stated back, “I like to read.”  While her response was, “Oh good!”  Apparently I was committing some act of treason that she was repulsed by, but at least I was reading.  I continued to swear in my head and think of all the things I wanted to say, but really wasn’t going to say.  In my head I’m explaining all the reasons that I have this “technology” and then I start to wonder why?  Why do I care what she thinks?  I’ve often gone through this with fashion.  Sometimes when you dress a little different people tend to stare and make comments about what you have on.  If you step out of the box a little, then it becomes shocking and appauling to some, while others support and appreciate the effort put forth.  That’s what I need to inherit more of in my life.  I have started in small steps with fashion and have stepped outside the box more and more.  This is my way to say who I am!  Don’t let others judge what you’re doing, just as I now don’t let others affect how I dress.  I dress for me and express who I am!

Step outside your comfort zone and don’t let the haters hate!  I know it’s hard to do, but if we start off small, eventually we grow stronger and the most hateful things will roll off our backs!  Live your life for you and only you!

Fashionably Yours,

Boho & Braids xoxo

2 thoughts on “Fashion is…Forgetting the haters

Leave a comment